Iso 45001 is Built Based on Several Key Standards and Guidelines:

ISO 9001

It incorporates principles of quality management to enhance the effectiveness of occupational health and safety management systems.

OHSAS 18001

ISO 45001 replaces and builds upon OHSAS 18001, aligning it with the ISO framework for management system standards.


It draws from the International Labour Organization's guidelines on occupational health and safety management systems.

Various national and regional standards

ISO 45001 takes into account relevant standards and regulations from different countries to create a globally applicable standard.

Benefits Of ISO 45001

Improved Safety Performance: ISO 45001 helps organizations reduce workplace accidents and incidents, leading to improved safety records.

Enhanced Employee Well-being: It prioritizes the well-being of employees, resulting in a healthier and safer work environment.

Legal Compliance: Ensures organizations comply with relevant health and safety laws and regulations, reducing legal risks.

Reduced Costs: Fewer accidents and illnesses mean lower healthcare and compensation costs, as well as reduced downtime.

Increased Productivity: A safer workplace often leads to increased employee morale and productivity.

Global Recognition: ISO 45001 is internationally recognized, making it easier to do business globally.

Risk Management: It helps identify and mitigate health and safety risks, preventing potential disasters.

Competitive Advantage: Certification can give organizations a competitive edge in winning contracts and tenders.

Steps To Certification ISO 45001

  • 1Initial Gap Analysis

    Begin by conducting a gap analysis to assess your current occupational health and safety management system against the requirements of ISO 45001. Identify areas that need improvement and create an action plan.
  • 2Documenting the System

    Develop the necessary documentation for your occupational health and safety management system. This includes policies, procedures, and records as required by ISO 45001.
  • 3Training and Awareness

    Train employees and raise awareness about the new system and its requirements. Ensure that everyone understands their roles and responsibilities.
  • 4Implementation

    Implement the ISO 45001 system throughout the organization. This involves putting policies and procedures into practice and making necessary changes to improve safety.
  • 5Internal and External Audit

    Conduct audits to assess the effectiveness of the system and identify any non-conformities or areas for improvement.
  • 6Certification Award

    Once all requirements are met, the certification body awards ISO 45001 certification to your organization.
parallax background

Frequently Asked Questions

1How does ISO 45001 differ from OHSAS 18001?
ISO 45001 builds upon OHSAS 18001 and aligns it with the ISO framework for management system standards, making it more compatible with other ISO standards.
2Is ISO 45001 certification mandatory?
Certification is not mandatory, but many organizations choose to pursue it to demonstrate their commitment to occupational health and safety.
3How long does it take to get ISO 45001 certified?
The time frame varies depending on the organization's size, complexity, and readiness. It can take several months to over a year to become certified.
4What is the cost of ISO 45001 certification?
Certification costs depend on factors such as the size and complexity of your organization and the certification body you choose. It typically involves fees for audits and ongoing surveillance.

Need A Certification? Contact Us Now